Government Relations

New MPPs officially join Ontario Legislature

Two newest Ontario MPPs, NDP’s Catherine Fife and Liberal’s Steven Del Duca, elected in the recent by-election, were officially sworn in September 19, 2012.


Despite the crucial by-election held in two Ontario ridings September 6, the minority status of the Ontario government has not been affected. Dalton McGuinty’s Liberals have 53 seats, one shy of the 54 needed for a majority – the same total they held before the by-elections were called.

Ontario Liberals won only one seat in Vaughan, which became vacant after a long-term MPP and a former minister Greg Sorbara had resigned earlier this summer. Newly elected Steven Del Duca previously served as the executive assistant to former Vaughan MPP Greg Sorbara and worked for Dalton McGuinty when he was leader of the Official Opposition.

In another by-election, in the Kitchener-Waterloo riding, NDP’s Catherine Fife beat Progressive Conservative’s (PC) Tracey Weiler, who placed second and Liberal candidate Eric Davis who finished third. Catherine Fife is a former president of the Ontario School Boards Association. She will be taking over the riding of a former PC MPP Elizabeth Witmer, who resigned in order to chair the Work and Safety Insurance Board of Ontario.

For more information on your MPP visit Ontario Legislative Assembly’s website

Leave a Reply